Alpaugh Tradeoffs

From the Journal: 8/5/2011 (Alpaugh, California)

One week down and no complaints — yet. True: My lips are burnt raw, but the rest of me is bronzed (insofar as  I tan). Its hellishly hot by 10AM, but we start work at 6 and get off by 2. There’s no internet, but every so the stars align and I my phone tells me I have a new email. There’s Arsenic in the water, but… actually that’s pretty horrible.  I’m driving alot, but the BLM is reimbursing me for most of it.

Everything bad has a flip side. Except that whole Arsenic thing. Eugh.

I mean, it had its moments.

Ghost town that it was, working in Alpaugh was still pretty amazing. As with all things, especially jobs, there are trade-offs that have to be made. For me at least, the lions share of my happiness can be assured simply by having interesting and intelligent coworkers. In Alpaugh at least, I did not lack in that department.

But yeah, the Arsenic thing was pretty foul (and it got worse before it got better).

Posted on December 12, 2011, in Alpaugh California and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

