Exploring Great Island

As much as I generally find complaining about the weather to be cathartic, I can’t really find a reason to groan about the unseasonably warm weather we’ve had on the Cape lately. Oh sure it’s intermittent at best, but every 50 degree day in January is a cause for mild celebration in my book. A reason to shed layers and play in what passes for the sunshine, if only for a few hours.

This past Sunday the mercury reached a scalding 54 degrees and I took the opportunity to explore Great Island in Wellfleet. Not actually an island, Great Island was apparently (among other things) the site of the Great Island Tavern way back when, and now is the home to a few great trails, some beautiful views of Wellfleet harbor, and acres of ‘wild’ oyster-beds. Due to the nice weather, there were a few other people out enjoying the sunshine, but the area is large enough, and the forest dense enough, that it felt as if we had the place all to ourselves.

I imagine this beach could be pretty crowded come Summer. Long live the pleasures of the offseason.

I imagine this beach could be pretty crowded come Summer. Long live the pleasures of the offseason.

We went at the lower end of the tide, although it certainly wasn't required, there was plenty of room to walk above the tide line.

We went at the lower end of the tide, although it certainly wasn’t required, there was plenty of room to walk above the tide line.

The forest on Great Island is almost completely mature Pitch Pine, not particularly novel around Cape Cod, but the lack of undergrowth (specifically the absence of obvious Poison Ivy or Cat Brier) meant that I came home from the hike without having to bath in technu.

Since exploring I’ve looked online to see what other people thought about the place (something I try not to do before visiting on my own) and it seems like my pleasant visit is far from unusual. I’m looking forward to going again during the summer and getting pictures of the Seals that apparently adore the area. As t happened, the only wildlife I saw in any abundance were Oysters, Wellfleet harbor is a premier place for aquaculture on the Cape, but I was still a little surprised to see so many growing wild and out in the open. I’ll admit they aren’t nearly as exciting as a family of Seals would be, but interesting Wildlife seems thin on the ground these days. I should really get my hands on a wildlife camera before Summer. Maybe I’ll have better luck that way.

The oyster-beds on/near Great Island

The oyster-beds on/near Great Island

A close up of the oysters in question, most were less than three inches long, too small to collect even if they were in season.

A close up of the oysters in question, most were less than three inches long, too small to collect even if they were in season.

I actually don’t have much else to say about the hike, even in the strangely warm weather I wasn’t actually there for very long. I’ll have to make another trip the next time the sun rears its head so aggressively. Until then, here are some more pictures from Sunday.

Looking back on the dunes at the beginning of the trail.

Looking back on the dunes at the beginning of the trail.

Great Island Dunes

Posted on January 21, 2013, in Exploring and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

